dans , ,

REVUE GAGGIA CLASSIC PRO - QUAND ACHETER UN ET QUAND PAS!

Dernière mise à jour le 2 janvier 2021 par Nick Baskett

La machine à expresso Gaggia Classic est l'une des préférées des amateurs de café à la maison depuis de nombreuses années.Par conséquent, lorsque Gaggia a publié la mise à jour 2019, appelée Classic Pro, nous en avons acheté une.

La Gaggia Classic Pro est une machine semi-automatique qui présente plusieurs limitations, mais cela n'a pas empêché une base de fans dédiée de continuer à les acheter. Lisez la suite pour comprendre pourquoi nous pensons que le Gaggia Classic Pro est un excellent choix pour un passionné de café en particulier, y compris les amateurs d'espresso comme nous, et pourquoi d'autres devraient envisager des alternatives.

Résumé d'avance

Le Gaggia Classic Pro fera un excellent espresso, moussera assez bien le lait, mais ne fera pas les deux en même temps. Il a une qualité de construction robuste et simple en acier inoxydable et dispose d'un marché secondaire florissant pour les ajouts et les mises à niveau, et conserve très bien sa valeur.

Choisissez-le si vous voulez une entrée abordable dans la fabrication d'espresso, souhaitez avoir un moulin séparé et n'avez pas besoin de faire de nombreuses boissons à base de lait en succession rapide.

Ce qui a changé depuis l'ancien modèle

  • La pompe a des vibrations réduites. Ressenti moins comme un tremblement de terre. 
  • Baguette à vapeur professionnelle en métal avec deux trous, ce qui est peut-être la plus grande amélioration globale. L'ancien modèle avait une baguette panarello en plastique plus facile à utiliser, mais au détriment du contrôle et de la qualité.
  • Le Classic Pro 2019 est maintenant fabriqué en Italie. Les modèles précédents ont été externalisés en Roumanie

Caractéristiques principales de Gaggia Classic Pro

Une fonctionLa description
Type de chaudièreChaudière simple
Contrôle de la températureNon
ManomètreNon
Source d'eauResevoir
Baguette vapeurOui - Professionnel
BroyeurNon
Electrovanne 3 voies?Oui

Capacité de brassage - 4,5 / 5

Étant donné que toutes les boissons au café commencent avec une base d'espresso, une bonne machine, il va sans dire, devrait être capable de préparer un bon expresso. Mais il y a un hic. À ce prix, certaines personnes peuvent choisir le Classic Pro à utiliser avec un panier pressurisé et du café prémoulu, tandis que d'autres, attirés par sa capacité et son prix bas, veulent moudre notre propre café. Configurer une machine pour donner de bons résultats pour l'une affectera les résultats de l'autre.

L'extraction haute pression par défaut n'est pas idéale pour les prises de vue régulières

Un panier pressurisé simplifie le processus de tirage d'un expresso et est le moyen le plus simple de commencer à faire un espresso si vous n'avez pas de moulin de qualité, mais il nécessite également plus de pression que ce qui est idéal pour une utilisation avec un panier ordinaire. Le Classic Pro prêt à l'emploi pousse environ 14 bars dans votre café. Trop pour faire un bon espresso avec du café fraîchement moulu qui nécessite 9 bars.

La bonne nouvelle est que les kits sont disponibles pour moins de 5 £ ($6) qui vous fournissent un petit ressort et quelques tubes. Le ressort a mis 5 minutes à remplacer et a abaissé la pression au niveau idéal de 9 bars.

Les haricots comptent

Cela dit, avant d'acheter le kit, je recevais toujours un excellent expresso avec des rôtis plus foncés. Il s'agit d'une machine de fabrication italienne, et les Italiens préfèrent une saveur robuste plus forte, plus facile et plus indulgente à extraire.

Cependant, lorsque vous vous orientez vers l'utilisation d'un rôti moyen ou léger, vous aurez du mal à tirer le meilleur parti des grains sans avoir un contrôle fin sur plusieurs aspects de l'extraction, y compris en réglant la pression sur une barre inférieure de 9 bars et avec une capacité pour régler la température.

Elle n'est pas belle, mais les clichés sont plutôt bons. Notez le dispositif PID non standard coincé sur le côté gauche de la machine.

Contrôle de la température

L'eau plus chaude extrait le café plus rapidement que l'eau plus froide, donc si vous voulez entrer dans vos espressos fins d'origine unique, vous aurez besoin d'un contrôle de la température.

Le thermostat à l'intérieur du Gaggia Classic Pro est un bloc physique qui se dilate avec la chaleur et se contracte en refroidissant. Il n'y a pas de finesse comme vous pouvez l'imaginer.

Votre seule indication que la «bonne» température a été atteinte est que le voyant de l'interrupteur d'infusion s'allume.

Cette simplicité, bien sûr, est un avantage si vous ne voulez pas vous impliquer profondément dans les subtilités de la fabrication de l'espresso. Il fonctionne assez bien avec les haricots Lavatza ou Ille réguliers et d'autres rôtis italiens. Vous ne serez pas déçu et pourrez vous faire plaisir en essayant différents grains et en préparant un café savoureux.

Si vous souhaitez augmenter votre niveau de brassage, le marché secondaire de Gaggia est à vos côtés. Il existe plusieurs kits PID sur le marché qui vous permettent de remplacer l'ancien thermomètre physique par un thermomètre numérique précis au dixième de degré (mesuré à la chaudière).

J'avoue honteusement que je n'ai pratiquement aucune compétence pratique de bricoleur. J'ai essayé, mais je n'ai pas ce qu'il faut. Cependant, j'ai pu en quelques heures, suivant les instructions de M. Shades et un kit que je lui ai acheté sur eBay, installer un PID. Étonnamment, cela a fonctionné et a continué de fonctionner de manière fiable pendant plusieurs mois jusqu'à présent. L'avantage de ce PID est le niveau de contrôle et la visibilité de la température de la chaudière qu'il vous donne.

Lait moussant - 4/5

La Gaggia Classic Pro est une machine à expresso à une seule chaudière. Cela signifie que l'eau utilisée pour préparer l'espresso provient de la même chaudière que celle utilisée pour cuire le lait à la vapeur. Vous souhaitez préparer votre café entre 90 ° et 96 ° C, et la mousse de lait nécessite une température beaucoup plus élevée.

Il est donc préférable de faire d'abord cuire le lait à la vapeur, puis d'attendre que la chaudière refroidisse à la bonne température pour préparer votre expresso. Appuyer sur le bouton d'infusion libère un tas de vapeur et aide au refroidissement. Cela prendra encore une minute ou plus et vous devrez faire tourner votre pot à lait avant de verser.

Cela signifie une certaine quantité d'attente de faire l'un à l'autre. Cela n'a pas beaucoup d'impact lors de la fabrication d'une seule boisson à base de lait, mais si vous devez en faire plusieurs, cela pourrait être un problème à considérer. Passer à une machine à double chaudière signifie cependant reconsidérer votre budget.

La baguette à lait sur le modèle 2019 est une baguette `` appropriée '', au lieu de la baguette de type `` Panarello '' qui simplifie le processus de cuisson à la vapeur, mais supprime simultanément une grande partie du contrôle et donne un résultat toujours moyen.

La baguette Pro maintenant incluse vous donne plus de contrôle sur le processus de moussage, ce qui signifie que vous pouvez en faire une oreille de porc totale, mais vous pouvez également apprendre à cuire le lait correctement, en alternant entre le style cappuccino - avec plus d'air et de mousse, et un café au lait avec microfoam lisse qui est nécessaire pour l'art latte. La baguette Pro est une bonne chose compte tenu du marché de cette machine et a été universellement appréciée. 

Certains critiques ont critiqué le manque de flexibilité sur la mécanique de la baguette pour le positionner à l'intérieur de la cruche, mais je n'ai jamais eu de problème pour fabriquer une microfoam parfaite. Une fois que vous avez appris la position de la cruche, il est contre-productif de se déplacer de plus d'une fraction lors du chauffage du lait. Les cappuccinos ou les lattes étaient faciles à obtenir s'ils prenaient un peu plus de temps que sur des machines plus puissantes.

Facilité d'utilisation - 4,5 / 5

Si vous voulez appuyer sur un bouton et aller, le Gaggia Classic Pro vous récompensera avec de bons résultats, en particulier sur un rôti italien traditionnel. J'ai enlevé un demi-point pour les limites d'une seule chaudière, ce qui peut signifier que vous devez travailler un peu plus lors de la production de plusieurs boissons lactées.

Il y a trois boutons sur le devant. ON, BREW et STEAM. Simples!

Le remplissage du réservoir d'eau est simple avec un accès pratique par le haut. Si votre machine se trouve sur votre comptoir, sous vos armoires, vous avez encore juste assez de place pour verser de l'eau d'un filtre Breville dans le réservoir.

Entretien et nettoyage - 3/5

Comme d'autres qui ont examiné cette machine, le principal domaine de déception est le régime de nettoyage. Contrairement au Sage / Breville Barista express avec son enviable bouton `` Clean me '', The Gaggia aime les choses faites à l'ancienne, vous obligeant à dépouiller la machine. Selon la dureté de votre eau, vous pouvez le faire une ou deux fois par an.

La chaudière est de type aluminium revêtu, qui ne rouille pas, mais l'accumulation de calcaire peut endommager le revêtement. D'autres composants, comme l'électrovanne - utilisée pour extraire l'eau du panier vers le plateau d'égouttement pour éviter que la rondelle finie ne devienne «soupe», seront bloqués assez facilement sans détartrage régulier.

aucun résidu aqueux soupes sur le dessus de la rondelle signifie moins de nettoyage

Récemment, en fait, mon électrovanne s'est bloquée. Heureusement, le réparer était assez simple. J'ai suivi les conseils de cette vidéo et il a fallu 5 minutes pour le faire fonctionner à nouveau:

Gaggia Classic Pro vs Sage / Breville Barista Express

Mais si c'est l'étendue de vos besoins, je pense qu'il y a d'autres choix à considérer. Considérez une machine avec un broyeur intégré comme le Sage (commercialisé sous le nom de Breville aux États-Unis) Barista Express qui coûte environ 100 £ ($125) de plus que le Gaggia mais comprend le coût du broyeur que vous devez payer séparément avec le Gaggia Classic Pro.

Réglage de la température

Le Sage / Breville Barista Express offre quelques ajustements bruts. Il n'y a pas d'indication facile de la température de la chaudière, et il semble qu'ils l'aient ajoutée pour remplir la feuille de fonctionnalités, mais ils ne s'attendent pas à ce que quelqu'un l'utilise.

Broyeur intégré

Adopter une approche intégrée, comme nous le savons, présente des avantages, mais comporte des limites. Le fait d'avoir un broyeur intégré à la machine en fait un jeu d'enfant à utiliser, nécessite moins d'espace et semble sans doute plus agréable.

D'un autre côté, si vous souhaitez augmenter votre jeu de barista à l'avenir, la mise à niveau du moulin ne sera pas possible. Vous pouvez ignorer le broyeur intégré et utiliser un broyeur externe séparé, mais cette trémie vide va vous regarder chaque matin, vous demandant pourquoi vous ne les avez pas simplement achetés séparément, pour commencer.

Résumé et conclusion

Le Gaggia Classic Pro est conçu pour durer et être un cheval de bataille tant que vous lui montrez un peu d'amour de temps en temps. Facile à travailler, pièces bon marché et disponibles et le rêve d'un recycleur. Il s'agit d'une machine qui vous permettra de démarrer juste au-dessus de la barrière $500.

Vous devrez toujours acheter un broyeur séparé, un saboteur et quelques autres bits, mais vous en aurez un dans un système qui vous permettra de grandir. Si vous décidez de le vendre, le Classic Pro conserve bien sa valeur.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

café

LE CAFÉ MODIFIE NOTRE SENS DU GOÛT

LA MARZOCCO - LA LINEA MINI EN VAUT-ELLE LA VALEUR? MISE À JOUR POUR 2021

GAGGIA CLASSIC PRO REVIEW – WHEN TO BUY ONE AND WHEN NOT!

Last Updated on January 8, 2022 by Nick Baskett

The Gaggia Classic espresso machine has been a favourite for home coffee enthusiasts for many years, so when Gaggia released the 2019 update, called the Classic Pro, we bought one, and used it as a daily driver for over a year. 

During that time, I pulled the machine apart, upgraded components, added a PID and did various cleaning and repair jobs. I feel like I know this machine, but would I still recommend it in 2022?

The Gaggia Classic Pro is a semi-automatic machine that has several limitations, yet this hasn’t stopped a dedicated fanbase from continuing to buy them. Read on to understand why we think the Gaggia Classic Pro is still an excellent choice in 2022 for a particular coffee enthusiast, including espresso lovers like us, and why others should look at alternatives.

Summary Up Front

The Gaggia Classic Pro out of the. box can make great espresso, froth milk reasonably well, but not do both at the same time. It has a robust and simple stainless steel build quality and has a thriving secondary market for add-ons and upgrades, and is pretty easy to re-sell when the time comes.

Choose it if you want an affordable entry into making espresso, wish to have a separate grinder, and don’t need to make many milk-based drinks in quick succession.

The machine is feeling a little dated now. Gaggia’s approach may be if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, but I think a few small refinements could go a long way to extending the appeal of this machine.  One of the machines they were previously compared to, the Rancilio Silvia Pro has been upgraded significantly recently, although it now comes at a higher cost.

It’s a Gateway to More Capable Machines

Another reason not discussed much, is how this machine allows you to experiment, tinker, and learn about the brewing mechanics at a reasonable cost. I would never modify my Rocket R58 which cost over £2k, but during my years with the Gaggia, I had no problem in swapping out the drip tray for a 3D printed variant, changing the filter basket, or even cleaning limescale out of the 3-way solenoid valve.

The fundamental knowledge of coffee machine mechanics I learned during that time is something I appreciate now. The simplicity of the machine, active community and thriving 3rd party market set made it possible.

Some Negatives to Consider

  • It’s starting to look old compared to newer models
  • No PID and therefore no way to control temperature which limits your ability to control extraction on darker vs lighter roasts.
  • If you make milk based drinks, you’ll have to make the espresso’s first and then wait for the boiler to heat to milk frothing temperature. Making more than one milk based coffee, will take longer than you want. Look elsewhere if you’re regularly making several milky coffees.
  • Although made from a stainless steel frame, It attracts grime after a while, especially on the base below the drip tray
  • It comes out the box set to 15bar pressure, which is too high. You’ll need to change this to 9bar or lower using a kit. This is simple and cheap to do, but it might make some anxious

Feature Highlights

  • A single boiler machine controlled by simple switches, it has some quality components where it counts that help in brewing quality espresso.
  • Stability is pretty good once warmed up however due to the integrated group head with close proximity to the boiler and heavy brass portafilter which retains heat.
  • Small footprint, easy to remove water reservoir or fill from top.
  • Decent milk frothing, but you have to wait for the boiler to heat after you’ve brewed your espresso.
  • Lots of aftermarket parts if you like to tinker and learn

What’s Changed from the Old Model

  • The pump has reduced vibration. Feels less like an earthquake. 
  • Professional metal steam wand with two holes which is perhaps the biggest improvement overall. The old model had a plastic panarello wand which was easier to use, but at the cost of control and fine quality.
  • The 2019 Classic Pro is made in Italy now. Previous models were outsourced to Romania

Gaggia Classic Pro Key Features

FunctionDescription
Boiler TypeSingle Boiler
Temperature ControlNo
Pressure GaugeNo
Water SourceResevoir
Steam WandYes - Professional
GrinderNo
3-Way Solenoid Valve?Yes

Brewing Capability – 4.5/5

Since all coffee drinks start with an espresso base, a good machine, it goes without saying, should be able to brew good espresso. But there’s a catch. At this price point, some people may choose the Classic Pro to use with a pressurised basket and pre-ground coffee, while others attracted by its capability and low price point want to grind our own coffee. Setting up a machine to give good results for one, will affect the results of the other.

High-Pressure Extraction by Default is not ideal for regular shots

A pressurised basket simplifies the process of pulling an espresso shot and is the easiest way to start making espresso if you don’t have a quality grinder, but it also requires more pressure than is ideal for use with a regular basket. The Classic Pro out-of-the-box pushes around 14 bar through your coffee. Too much to make good espresso with freshly ground coffee which requires 9 bar.

The good news is that kits are available for less than £5 ($6) which supply you with a small spring and some tubes. The spring took 5 minutes to replace and took the pressure down to the ideal 9 bar level.

The beans matter

That said before I bought the kit I was still getting great espresso with darker roasts. This is an Italian made machine, and the Italians prefer a stronger robust flavour, which is easier and more forgiving to extract.

However, when you move toward using a medium or light roast, you will struggle to get the best out of the beans without having fine control over several aspects of the extraction, including having the pressure set to a lower 9 bar, and with an ability to set the temperature.

She’s no beauty, but the shots are pretty good. Note the non-standard PID device stuck on the left side of the machine.

Temperature Control

Hotter water extracts coffee faster than colder water, so if you want to get into your single-origin fine espressos, you will need temperature control.

The thermostat inside the Gaggia Classic Pro is a physical block that expands with heat and contracts as it cools. There is no finesse in this as you can imagine.

Your only indication that the ‘right’ temperature has been reached is that the light on the brew switch comes on.

This simplicity, of course, is an advantage if you don’t want to get deeply involved in the intricacies of making espresso. It works quite well with the regular Lavazza or Illy beans and other Italian roasts. You will not be disappointed and can get a lot of pleasure from trying different beans and making tasty coffee.

Should you wish to raise your brewing game, the Gaggia secondary market has your back. There are several PID kits on the market which allow you to replace the old physical thermometer with a digital one accurate to one-tenth of a degree (measured at the boiler).

I shamefully admit that I have close to zero practical handyman skills. I’ve tried, but I don’t have what it takes. However, I was able in a couple of hours, following instructions from Mr Shades and a kit I bought from him on eBay, to install a PID. Amazingly, it worked and has continued to work reliably for several months so far. The benefit of this PID is the level of control and the visibility of the boiler temperature that it gives you.

Frothing Milk – 4/5

The Gaggia Classic Pro is a single boiler espresso machine. This means that the water used to brew the espresso comes from the same boiler as used for steaming milk. You want to brew your coffee between 90° to 96°C, and milk frothing requires a much higher temperature.

So you’re probably best to steam the milk first and then wait for the boiler to cool to the right temperature to make your espresso. Pushing the brew button releases a bunch of steam and helps the cooling. It will still take a minute or more and you’ll need to swirl your milk jug before pouring.

This means a certain amount of waiting from doing one to the other. It doesn’t have much impact when making a single milk-based drink, but if you need to do several, then it might be an issue to consider. Moving up to a dual boiler machine though means reconsidering your budget.

The milk wand on the 2019 model is a ‘proper’ wand, instead of the ‘Panarello’ type wand which simplifies the steaming process, but simultaneously removes much of the control and results in a consistently average result.

The Pro wand now included gives you more control over the frothing process meaning you can make a total pig’s ear of it, but you can also learn how to steam milk properly, switching between cappuccino style – with more air and froth, and a latte with smooth microfoam that is needed for latte art. The Pro wand is a good thing considering the market for this machine and has been universally appreciated. 

Some reviewers have criticized the lack of flexibility on the wand mechanics for positioning it inside the jug, but I’ve never had an issue making perfect microfoam. Once you learn the jug position, it’s counterproductive to move around more than a fraction when heating milk. Cappuccinos or lattes were easily achieved if taking a bit longer than on machines with more power.

Ease of Use – 4.5/5

If you want to push a button and go, the Gaggia Classic Pro will reward you with good results, especially on a traditional Italian roast. I’ve taken off half a point for the limitations of a single boiler, which may mean you need to work a little harder when producing multiple milk drinks.

There are three buttons on the front. ON, BREW, and STEAM. Simples!

Filling the water tank is straightforward with convenient access from the top. If your machine sits on your counter, under your cupboards, you still have just enough room to pour water from a Breville filter into the tank.

Maintenance and Cleaning – 3/5

Like others who have reviewed this machine, the main area of disappointment is the cleaning regime. Unlike the Sage / Breville Barista express with its enviable ‘Clean me’ button, The Gaggia likes things done ‘old school’, requiring you to strip the machine. Depending on how hard your water is, you might be doing this once or twice a year.

The boiler is a coated aluminium type, which won’t rust, but the build-up of limescale might cause damage to the coating. Other components, like the solenoid valve – used to extract water from the basket to the drip tray to prevent your finished puck becoming ‘soupy’, will get blocked quite easily without regular descaling.

no soupy watery residue on top of the puck means less clean up

Recently in fact, my solenoid valve did get blocked. Fortunately, fixing it was quite simple. I followed the advice in this video and it took 5 minutes to get it working again:

Gaggia Classic Pro vs Sage / Breville Barista Express

But if this is the extent of your needs, I think there are other choices to consider. Consider a machine with a grinder built-in like the Sage (marketed as Breville in the US) Barista Express which costs about £100 ($125) more than the Gaggia but includes the cost of the grinder which you have to pay for separately with the Gaggia Classic Pro.

Temperature Adjustment

The Sage/Breville Barista Express offer some crude adjustments. There’s no easy indication of boiler temperature, and it seems like they’ve added it to fill out the feature sheet, but they don’t expect anyone to use it.

Built-in Grinder

Taking an integrated approach as we know has benefits, but brings with it limitations. Having a grinder built into the machine makes it a doddle to use, requires less space and arguably looks nicer.

On the other hand, if you want to raise your barista game in the future, upgrading the grinder will not be possible. You could ignore the built-in grinder and use a separate external one, but then that empty hopper is going to stare at you every morning making you wonder why you didn’t just buy them separately, to begin with.

Summary and Wrap Up

The Gaggia Classic Pro is built to last and be a workhorse as long as you show it a bit of love from time to time. Easy to work on, cheap and available parts and an upgrader’s dream. This is a machine that will get you started for just over the $500 barrier.

You will still need to buy a separate grinder, tamper and some other bits, but you’ll have a bought into a system that allows you to grow. If you do decide to sell it, the Classic Pro retains its value well.

2 thoughts on “GAGGIA CLASSIC PRO REVIEW – WHEN TO BUY ONE AND WHEN NOT!”

  1. Hi Sir.
    How does this Gaggia Classic Pro compares with the Expeessione Concierge Automatic?
    Thanks in advance for your reply.
    Cheri

    1. Hi Cheri,

      they’re very different machines. The Expressione Concierge is a super-automatic with a built in grinder that is the only equipment you need to make coffee, but don’t consider being able to upgrade it, or make any changes to improve the quality of coffee you’ll get from it. You’re stuck with the quality you get – which might. be good enough for you.

      The Gaggia Classic Pro has no grinder – you’ll need to buy that separately. But it is a more serious bit of equipment that, if used properly, will produce better results, especially if paired with a decent grinder. It’s built better, and has plenty of upgrade options. But. if you just want coffee at the push of a button, it’s probably not the right machine for you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

cocoa vector

Newsletter

en_GBEnglish